Famous parades expected to be one of fair’s main attractions

Each day of the 17-day 2018 South Florida Fair, Jan. 12-28, a famous parade from around the world will be highlighted, complete with authentic music, colorful costumes and highly decorated Mardi Gras floats, which also will be on display in the “Magical Parades” exhibition.

 

Float riders are expected to delight fairgoers as they toss beads into the crowds. The fair’s signature Bike Nite parades, which typically attract more than 250 motorcyclists, also will be part of the lineup. The parades are scheduled weekdays at 6:30 p.m., except for Thurs., Jan. 25, which will be at 7:30 p.m., and weekends at 1 p.m., as follows:

 

Magical Parades Schedule

Fri., Jan. 12 – Chinese New Year Parade

Sat., Jan. 13 – St. Patrick’s Parade

Sun., Jan. 14 – Mayors’ Parade

Mon., Jan. 15 – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Parade

Tues., Jan. 16 – Mardi Gras Parade

Wed., Jan. 17 – Bike Nite Parade

Thurs., Jan. 18 – Pirate Parade

Fri., Jan. 19 – Junkanoo Parade

Sat., Jan. 20 – Oktoberfest Parade

Sun., Jan. 21 – Carnival Parade

Mon., Jan. 22 – Rose Petal Parade

Tues., Jan. 23 – Mardi Gras Parade

Wed., Jan. 24 – Bike Nite Parade

Thurs., Jan. 25 – Veterans Parade

Fri., Jan. 26 – Boat Parade

Sat., Jan. 27 – Thanksgiving “Thank A Farmer” Parade

Sun., Jan. 28 – Football Hall of Fame Parade

 

 

Produced by the South Florida Fair & Palm Beach County Expositions, Inc., a nonprofit organization, the fair’s 106th edition will kick off at 5 p.m. on Jan. 11 with its Ride-A-Thon. The full fair will run from Jan. 12-28 at the fairgrounds, 9067 Southern Blvd. in West Palm Beach. For more information, call (561) 793-0333 or visit the website, http://www.southfloridafair.com.