PB POETRY FESTIVAL Announces Fellowship & Scholarship Winners

Susan R. Williamson, Director of the Palm Beach Poetry Festival (PBPF), today announced the five winners of Fellowships and Scholarships to the 15th annual Festival, scheduled for January 21-26 at Old School Square in Delray Beach. The three Poetry Festival Fellowships cover full tuition and lodging for the recipients.

“These fellowships represent a substantial investment in education focused on the craft of writing poetry,” said Miles Coon, Festival Founder and President. “We have been working toward opening the doors widely to the festival workshops and offer participants the opportunity to work together with these exceptionally talented fellows who were selected from the largest applicant pool in our 15-year history. This year we have been blessed with very talented Fellowship and Scholarship applicants.”

The Palm Beach Poetry Festival 2019 is awarding three Fellowships and two Scholarships:

The Langston Hughes Fellowship for African-American poets was awarded to Tyree Daye of Youngsville, North Carolina. He is the winner of the 2017 APR/Honickman First Book Prize for his book River Hymns. In addition, he is a 2017 Ruth Lilly Finalist, a Cave Canem fellow and longtime member of the editorial staff at Raleigh Review. He received his MFA in poetry from North Carolina State University. Daye’s work has been published in Prairie Schooner, The New York Times, and the Nashville Review. Daye recently won the Amy Clampitt Residency for 2018 and The Glenna Luschei Prairie Schooner Award for his poems in the Fall 2015 issue.

The Kundiman Fellowship for Asian-American poets was awarded to Shelley Wong from the San Francisco Bay Area. Wong is the author of the chapbook RARE BIRDS. Her poems have appeared in CrazyhorseKenyon Review OnlineSixth Finch, and Sycamore Review. She is the recipient of a 2017 Pushcart Prize along with fellowships and support from Kundiman, the MacDowell Colony, Kenyon Review Writers Workshop, I-Park Foundation, Fire Island National Seashore, and SPACE.

The CantoMundo Fellowship for Latin American poets was awarded to Denice Frohman, a poet and performer from New York City. Frohman is a CantoMundo Fellow and former Women of the World Poetry Slam Champion. Her poems have appeared in Nepantla: An Anthology for Queer Poets of Color, Women of Resistance: Poems for a New Feminism, and elsewhere. She has been featured on hundreds of stages from The Apollo to the Nuyorican Poets Café, and co-organizes #PoetsforPuertoRico. For more information, please visit www.denisefrohman.com.

The Thomas Lux Scholarship was awarded to Cate Lycurgus of the San Francisco Bay Area. She teaches professional writing and conducts interviews for 32 Poems. She will study with faculty poet Aracelis Girmay. Her poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in American Poetry ReviewTin House, Orion, and elsewhere. A 2014 Ruth Lilly Fellowship Finalist, she has also received scholarships from Bread Loaf and Sewanee Writers’ Conferences and was named one of Narrative’s 30 Under 30 Featured Writers.

This year’s Sarah Lawrence Scholar is Amanda Volel, a poet who is a teaching artist currently working with the Teachers & Writers Collaborative in New York. She is matriculating in the Sarah Lawrence Graduate Program in Poetry for an MFA Degree.